Philosophy of Teaching

20 Feb

I believe that teaching involves opening students’ minds to new worlds, even if those worlds have been right in front of their noses the entire time. In order to facilitate this introduction I hope to engage students in instruction that is differentiated and varied so that each student will be able to learn in a way best suited to their personal needs. Inquiry is one particular tool that I hope to utilize in my classroom as often as possible. I believe that the use of inquiry learning helps to empower students and inspires them to become lifelong learners; questioning the world around them and investigating answers to their queries.

I hope to run my classroom as a democracy where rules and guidelines are decided on as a collective. I believe that if students are acting out or misbehaving there are often deeper reasons for it. Along with this belief comes the belief that as a teacher I have the capacity and even the responsibility to respond to these needs to ensure that my student’s are alright physically, mentally, emotionally, socially, and spiritually. The overall goal of my classroom will always be to make sure that each of my students is performing to the best of their ability, and that they trust me enough to share with me who they truly are in the day to day goings on of school life.

One Response to “Philosophy of Teaching”

  1. Emily Mann April 9, 2012 at 5:47 pm #

    In re-reading this post weeks after the fact I am pleased with the fact that I still agree with much of what I have written. This is pleasing to me in that, though I have now had some concrete experience during pre-internship, I still feel that my initial teaching philosophy holds strong. One thing that I would add to this philosophy now would be the idea of place-based learning. Having experienced some place-based learning, I understand how beneficial it is for all students. I intend to utilize place-based learning, even if simply letting kids work outside one period a week, as often as possible. Learning about content at the site of said content is both meaningful and creates lasting impressions.

Leave a Reply

